IMG_0772

Omg! I wanted to give everyone time to see the season finale before I gave my thoughts on it. I, along with everyone else, am a little upset that we haven’t found out why Jack died!

At the end of the previous episode, Kate finally opened up to Toby and started speaking on how her father died. She revealed that she was the reason for his death, but didn’t say why. All week I kept wondering, Why was she the reason? Did he take her advise to see Rebecca perform and get in a car accident? What was it? I couldn’t wait to finally hear why Miguel is suddenly Step-Daddy.

As I was watching this anticipated season finale, I caught myself saying “And this is where he dies….” and all I got was more Jack and Rebecca. It was a nice episode, but it wasn’t what I was expecting after William’s funeral episode.

Well, Moore has a message for those less-than-impressed This Is Us superfans: “Be patient!” The actress, who clearly caught wind of the episode’s backlash, explained on Instagram why fans need to chill.

“For those somehow frustrated with the finale not revealing how Jack passed, I would encourage patience,” she wrote. “Otherwise you might be watching the wrong show. Last night was fundamental to the bigger picture.”

The “bigger picture,” according to Moore, was unraveling the DNA of Jack and Rebecca’s relationship (which, to be fair, the finale did in spades). “The story deviated and ultimately landed on (I think) a more compelling question…what was the state of this relationship in the end?” she wrote. Truthfully, this is an interesting thought and will probably inform much of season two’s plot—including Jack’s death.

But Moore, like Ventimiglia, doesn’t want you to obsess about Jack’s demise. “Let’s focus on how the man lived,” she wrote.

Thoughts?

